Ramadan Kareem !

♪ It’s the most….wonderful tiiiiiiiiiime of the yeaaaaaaarrrrr ♫ (well, for me at least 🙂 )

The holiest month in the religon of Islam has arrived and I am absolutely THRILLED. One of the main reasons why is because I am finally going to be spending it with my family after almost 7 years away ❤

Each year during Ramadan, I am overcome with peace and tranquility as I spend more time learning about my religion and establishing a closer bond with Allah. Not only that, but it’s just the best time to be around family and loved ones. We fast together, pray together, and eat together; doesn’t get better than that for me.

This sentiment was a little hard to acheive when I was away from family during Ramadan. However, my non-Muslim friends eased this void and I am forever grateful to them for that. They were so curious about Ramadan and had several questions for me, which I was elated about because one thing I truly enjoy is engaging in cross-cultural conversations. Being open minded about other people’s traditions and attempting to understand it is such a great contribution to this beautiful world of ours 🙂

Vox Ramadan
Screenshot of Jennifer Williams’s Ramadan article on Vox

For those of you that are in fact curious about Ramadan, there is a great article which summarizes this month very well. Written by Jennifer Williams, it lists 9 questions that may or may not have crossed your mind about Ramadan. Click here to check it out !

In short, I would love to take time to wish my fellow Muslims a blessed Ramadan ❤ May Allah accept your fasts, duaas, prayers, and good deeds. Let’s not forget what the purpose of this month is really about and find the strength in our souls to complete it in a halal way manner. And to the non-Muslims out there that continue to recognize, respect, and openly welcome the Muslim community, I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for reinforcing the idea of coexistence; y’all are the real heroes ❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

