You Do You

Chicken legs, banana face, small head, high butt, too-many-teeth, skeleton; boy have I heard it all when it comes to my physical appearance being critisized.

There was a period of time in my life when any negative comment about my body would cut me deep and I would spend hours or days trying to figure out how to get rid of the flaw. But now, I don’t give a rat’s a$$ what people think about the way I look. I am not here to please their preferences. Sure I have my insecurities but I am not going to let them stop me from trying to make the most of life and enjoy it to the absolute fullest.

flaws-border
Elite Daily article by Alexia LaFata

Alexia LaFata posted a great article on Elite Daily discussing the importance of accepting our flaws and how they should be celebrated. LaFata herself deals with eczema all over her body and has attempted to find remedies to heal it. She soon comprehended that her eczema does not define who she is as a person. “At the end of the day, my “problem” is really not enough of a problem to warrant any legitimate feelings of insecurity” she says.

Based on her experiences she provides 5 fantastic ways to stop obssessing over what is “wrong” with your flaw(s). It is an insightful look into how the change needs to begin with your mentality. Click here to read her article.

Just something to keep in mind: “What you may see as a flaw or problem, others may see as an admirable gift and charm.” – Colleen George

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

