Happiness Is …

Several people that I meet along my life journey notice that I am one of those people that always wears a smile and loves being in a joyful mood. Due to this, I get asked the question: “How are you happy all the time?“. I never really know how to respond to that question so I simply go with the best and safest answer to any question “I don’t know“.

The honest truth is that it took me years to make happiness the fundamental philosophy of my day-to-day lifestyle. It required a whole lot of mental and emotional reflection as well as deciphering what elements weighed me down and what barriers prevented me from experiencing life holistically. Therefore, I went from being caged by these negative obstacles to being that bubbly person that is every grumpy-morning person’s worst nightmare (winning!!).

So back to the question: “How are you happy all the time?“I reflect on this question from time to time and really wonder what truly makes me burst with energy and lifts my spirits. Now I am not saying that I do not have bad days; I am not a robot. But I have conditioned myself to not let negative aspects hinder my sources of happiness too much.

Below is a list of some factors that contribute to my usually jubilant-self:

  1. Keeping drama at bay: Unnecessary and petty drama can spawn headaches, annoyance, the urge to punch, and continuous eye rolls. When I sense even an inkling of such drama coming my way, I immediately abort mission.
  2. Celebrating the happiness of others: One of the most generous things you can do is to be happy for the accomplishments of others. We never really get the full back-story of the blood, sweat and tears that were shed during the process and so recognizing their feat can completely make their day.
  3. Being in the presence great company (large groups and one-on-ones): Surrounding myself with kick-ass people makes all the difference. Feeding off of one another’s energies is an addicting feeling that instantly puts me in a good mood.
  4. Enjoying the company of myself: As much as I love being around great people, I equally enjoy taking time to shut out the world and zone out. This usually involves a huge bowl of cereal, great music, some Youtube videos or a WWE episode. Bliss!
  5. The colour yellow: I think we all should have a visual cue that cheers us up and for me, that is the colour yellow. It brings back amazing childhood memories, makes me think of my late-grandmother’s light yellow outfit that is forever etched in my brain, it’s the colour I associate with my beloved motherland, and it’s the colour that reminds me of the warmth I feel during my favourite season (among others).
  6. Giving hugs and high-fives: As a professional in both activities, the sense of gratification felt when hugs and high-fives are done right is indesribable. And for those who have characterized my hugs as “back-breaking”, I say: you do not know what you’re talking about.
  7. Being underestimated: Not only does this give me the opportunity to prove someone wrong, but I end up pleasantly surprising myself and ticking another item off my “conquered” list.
  8. Laughter: I don’t believe in taking life too seriously, so lots and lots of laughter is what I live for. Whenever, wherever, with whomever. It is really is “the firework of the soul”.
  9. Disregarding of insignificant matters: Whether they are negative comments, toxic people, or frivolous situations, I like to give them all the “ain’t nobody got time for that” treatment.
  10. Giving selflessly: This is definitely a trait I inherited from my parents. Nothing makes me happier than being able to do something for someone knowing that it left a positive mark on their day.
  11. Praying: Taking time everyday to pray for my loved ones and being grateful for everything that I have been blessed with in life provides me with the feeling of serenity.
  12. Living in the present: It is quite important for me to whole-heartedly enjoy a moment while it happens because I never know if I will ever be able to experience it again. There is no time like the present so I do not take it for granted.

When reading this list, you may pick up on the fact that the majority of the factors that make me happy are intagibles. Owning material possessions can be great at times; however, I believe that the amount of time it provides me with happiness is quite limited. Alternatively, the intangible sources of happiness provide me with an eternal sense of satisfaction. Being committed to happy is one of the best relationships you can be in!

We all have different sources of happiness so I would love to hear from you: what makes YOU happy? Feel free to share 🙂

One thought on “Happiness Is …

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

